Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rectangular coil model

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
Anonymous
1241 Views, 16 Replies

Rectangular coil model

Hi,

I'm trying to do a rectangular coil for few days now and I'm having many difficulties.
Here is an example of more or less what I'm trying to do.
201001191115371e1d1aea5e.JPG
http://www.uratani-eng.com/english/service/images/201001191115371e1d1aea5e.JPG

Could you help me?
This is what I've made. Inside corners are not curved correctly and I can't really fix it. Also I would like to go to a lower level from the inside, but can't really find a way to bend the pipe, I can't separate last section of it.
image.png

I know it may sound silly, but I'm a beginner in 3d designing.
Thank you for help!
Regards,
Kuba

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: Anonymous

Can you attach the *.ipt file of your attempt here?

The solution will involve a Sweep path generated as the intersection of two surface bodies.

Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

Please find it in the attachment.
Thank you.

Message 4 of 17
TheCADWhisperer

Aren't the bend radii of your Sweep path obviously too small?

You have an outside bend on the resulting sweep, but not an inside bend?

I would expect the fillet in the path to be minimum 7.5  or 7.6 and all of them controlled from one dimension?

If you have a subscription access to the Updates - I recommend that you install them while waiting for someone to post an example solution for your design.

Message 5 of 17
Thomas_Savage

Hello @Anonymous

I have attached 2 Screenshots.

Are either of these screenshots what you wanted?

I changed the radius. And extended, shortened the sweep.

Thomas

Sweep.pngSweep 2.png

Thomas Savage

Design Engineer

Message 6 of 17