Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems connecting parts using constrain and joint function!

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
424 Views, 7 Replies

Problems connecting parts using constrain and joint function!

Hi! I'm new to Inventor and having some problems connecting some parts.

I have attached a photo of what I have done so far, consisting of 12 triangles with hinges on the sides and pins to have in the hinges. So far I have connected the parts using "Assemble - Constrain - Insert", I have also tried "Assemble - Constrain - Angle" and the "Joint"-function.

The problem is with the selected triangle, I only manage to connect one side of it, and I can't manage to connect it to the first triangle without it "jumping" off the one it's connected to now. What I want is to connect the triangles together like the upper part (which have the same problem when I move it around), and then be able to move it so that I create different angles between the triangles, if that made sense?

Does anyone have any idea as to how I can manage to do this? Connect the triangles (with pins between them) and be able to change the angles afterwards? In other words, basically make these triangles work as normal hinges?

As I'm new to Inventor, please try to use simple explanations. 

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: Anonymous

You should always have one part in an assembly Grounded.

Can you attach one of your ipt parts here?

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

Oh, I haven't grounded any of them, I'll try to do that.

Here is the .ipt file of the triangle.

Message 4 of 8
TheCADWhisperer

I recommend that you install the Service Packs and Updates for your version of Inventor.