Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nozzle Cone - How to flatten?

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
Zednero
503 Views, 14 Replies

Nozzle Cone - How to flatten?

Hi all, 

I'm relatively new to this and still trying to grasp just how to get things to work. 

I am currently trying to make a nozzle, not dissimilar to one used for icing, with 12 points at the end. 

I've managed to draw a few variations of this, however, each way I've drawn it, I cannot seem to find a way to flatten the design. 

When going back to basics, I can flatten a basic cone to a flat pattern, but not with the points and I've no idea where I'm going wrong with it all. 😂 

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
A.Acheson
in reply to: Zednero

Hi @Zednero 

Can you attach the part file of your attempt so others can help and allow us to see what you have tried also some images of what the finished part looks like. You might have to do some work arounds to get what you need if it's a complex feature.

If this solved a problem, please click (accept) as solution.‌‌‌‌
Or if this helped you, please, click (like)‌‌
Regards
Alan
Message 3 of 15
Zednero
in reply to: A.Acheson

Hi, 

Sure, I'll try and get some bits up tomorrow. I've spent a few hours on it tonight to no avail, and have currently got it all **** down. 😂 

Thankyou. 👍🏼 

Message 4 of 15
Zednero

IMG-20240629-WA0022.jpeg

IMG-20240628-WA0032.jpeg

20240627_124633.jpg

Just while I remember, here's a couple of pictures I took when trying different methods. The last one, is essentially what I'm trying to create. 

Message 5 of 15
A.Acheson