Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not active project...

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
chris13
1459 Views, 5 Replies

Not active project...

When dealing with this project, I CONSTANTLY get the message that "the file location of the selected file is not in the search path of the active project"...."do you want to continue??"

The two images below are from the project dialog box, and the expanded project location for a file-open dialog box..  They both apear to be the same, yet I am getting the error message.

Anyone understand why I'm getting this error message???

Thanks in Advance!

Chris

not current project.jpgproject location.jpg

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Mark.Lancaster
in reply to: chris13

I'm not an network expert but I have seen issues in INventor where a mapped drive has a better results than a UNC path does.  However I'm not sure if I've ever seen a UNC path being used as a project location either.  But at the same time I'm not fan of working across a network with Inventor. 

Edit: @chris13  I also just noticed in your 2nd image, that UNC path is mapped to "N".  Try using the mapped drive setting and see what happens.  Also I don't know without testing but I notice you have "Chris' documents" and I wonder if the single quote could also have an impact.

Mark Lancaster

&  Autodesk Services MarketPlace Provider

Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional & not an Autodesk Employee

Likes is much appreciated if the information I have shared is helpful to you and/or others

Did this resolve your issue? Please accept it "As a Solution" so others may benefit from it.

Message 3 of 6
chris13
in reply to: Mark.Lancaster