Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mirrored part which changes when the source part is changed

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
312 Views, 4 Replies

Mirrored part which changes when the source part is changed

Hi!

I am a beginner to Autodesk Inventor and I need help on mirroring a part so that the part will move and change when the source part is moved or changed in an assembly file. (I want to mirror the side of a box, to that when I move, constrain etc. that side/part, the mirrored side will also move and be constrained, but on the opposite side.) I can't seem to find a tutorial etc. but I clearly remember my teacher demonstrating it. I'm just not too sure how. Thank you very much in advance! 🙂

PS. How many constraints mininum do you need to constrain parts together in an assembly? (I think it is 1 Mate and 2 Flushes but I'm not sure)

Alan W

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

1. ...., the mirrored side will also move and be constrained, but on the opposite side.) 

2. PS. How many constraints mininum do you need to constrain parts together in an assembly? 

Alan W

1. Look into the Symmetry Constraint.

2. No one single answer - all depends on design intent.  Could be just one Insert Constraint.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 5
blair
in reply to: JDMather

I remember sitting in class and not paying attention to the teacher. Made me look like an idiot when I either was asked a question about what the teacher just explained or later when I had to do my homework.