Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking different assemblies and their parameters

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
348 Views, 5 Replies

Linking different assemblies and their parameters

I am a junior designer using autodesk inventor for steelwork and I am trying to link two assembies so when one changes, the other follows. How do I link these assemblies and their parameters? I already have the necessary parameters stored so is it a case of duplicating them in the two assemblies and going into iproperties and sub assembly updates. If so, does anyone know the formula that will link them? Thanks
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
CCarreiras
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi!

In the Parameter chart, use the link button. (bottom of the chart) and select the asembly or files to link parameters.

CCarreiras

EESignature

Message 3 of 6
blair
in reply to: CCarreiras

I've attached a great PDF on controlling a number of IAM files with a Excel spreadsheet.

Inventor 2020, In-Cad, Simulation Mechanical

Just insert the picture rather than attaching it as a file
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ

Message 4 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: blair

I am unable to read the pdf for some reason, could you send it again please. I am a bit confused as to how to link. I have selected the inventor file I want the parameters to link to but when i update one the other stays the same. Am i doing something wrong? Thanks.
Message 5 of 6
blair
in reply to: Anonymous

It works fine from the link for me but here it is again.

Inventor 2020, In-Cad, Simulation Mechanical

Just insert the picture rather than attaching it as a file
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ