Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

joints issue in dymanic simulation

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
1551 Views, 10 Replies

joints issue in dymanic simulation

I do not have much knowledge about joints in simuation. I am still learning.
Could someone please help me in this assembly?

I want to test a RHS which is coming down the slope and friction between the contact is 0.25. I can do the hand calculation but i want to see this happening in inventor

Question___why the block down the slope keep moving in a straight line in the assembly although I have specified the gravity? It should fall down as soon as it leaves the slope contact.

where am I wrong, is this joint or constrain or anything else that I have not specified?

Could someone please help me out?
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
henderh
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi skumar26,

Please see the attached assembly.

1) The planar joint in the original model will restrict the block from dropping off the inclined plane.

2) The coefficient of static friction at 0.25 seems too high. The threshold for movement seems to be between 0.17 and 0.18.

3) Set up the Planar joint perpendicular to the inclined plane. Then use a 2D contact using the inclined plane and block's side profiles.

4) Set the friction coefficient in the 2D Contact Joint.

Hope this helps!

Thanks and Best regards, -Hugh (Autodesk)

Hugh Henderson
QA Engineer (Fusion Simulation)
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous

Thanks Huge,

I can not understand one thing, why have you set friction in the 2D contact joint? When the RHS is sliding down, the friction should be between rubbing face that is fixed plane and RHS bottom face. It means there will be a joint to fulfill that requirement

No doubt the assembly is working, but this friction concept I could not understand.