Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor 2018; 2D file generation...

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
380 Views, 5 Replies

Inventor 2018; 2D file generation...

Hi all

Im very new to inventor... Im just plodding though some examples and I decided to put something together that I kind of needed made.

So i drew up the 4 small pieces of 10mm steel which i put together in an assembly and all worked rather nicely, I even managed to generate the drawing file... anyway, I then came to the realization that my local laser cutters only work off 2D drawing files. Now as I am a total Inventor amateur I thought i would ask rather than stumble around in the dark...

Can a standard 2D autocad file be auto generated from a part file (or even more than one part) or is it more involved??

Thanks Jon

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mjc_design
in reply to: Anonymous

If you create parts as sheet metal parts, then you can flat pattern them. Right click on the flat pattern and select "save copy as" to create .dxf file of the profile for laser cutting

Message 3 of 6
Paul1084

You can also generate AutoCAD DWG files from your IDW drawing file. Try file, Export to DWG, make sure you select the save type as AutoCAD DWG There are a number of options to do with sheet scaling vs 1 to 1 model space scaling, but it will create a 2D DWG exactly as you see it in your IDW sheet

Message 4 of 6
Binga

Just to expand the answer: You can RMB click in a planar face and select "Export Face As..." to get a .dxf or a .dwg.
If you want to organize a bunch os parts to optime the material consumption you can test the new Nesting Utility (https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/inventor-forum/nesting-utility-2019-3-what-s-new/td-p/8577665).

Gilberto Binga
Engenheiro Mecânico - Engenheiro Mecatrônico