Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor What Does Unit Correction Calculate? Export Bevel & Helical Gears?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
4628 Views, 6 Replies

Inventor What Does Unit Correction Calculate? Export Bevel & Helical Gears?

Hi I designed a couple of gears in Inventor and there's a feature called Unit correction and I have no idea what does it do. Can you please tell me what does the unit correction feature do, what does it calculate and how to use it?  Also can somebody tell me how to export bevel gears and helical gears?

kelly.young has edited your subject line for clarity: Gears

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
ToddHarris7556
in reply to: Anonymous

I'm no expert with the Gear generator, but I do know that unit correction has to do with profile shifting. From what I understand, it only applies when one gear gets small (<17 teeth?). When this happens, the tooth profile would begin to show undercut, which is weak. In order to avoid the undercut, the profile gets shifted (corrected) toward the larger gear. 

That's the extent of my understanding - when I get to that level, I call my power transmission guru 🙂

Re: bevel and helical gears.... I've noticed the bevel gear generator in Inventor, but not used it. I'm not aware that there's a helical generator. 

Todd
Product Design Collection (Inventor Pro, 3DSMax, HSMWorks)
Fusion 360 / Fusion Team
Message 3 of 7
jhackney1972