Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Free Form Troubleshooting

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1123 Views, 4 Replies

Free Form Troubleshooting

Hi All,

I have had a plethora of issues today in using Autodesk FreeForm.

It is my first time using the feature and it was very awesome and intuitive to start, but steadily got more and more buggy as I developed my idea. I am basically creating a series of geometric shapes over a plastic tumbler lid with the intent of using replace face to create a really nice textured pattern on my part, similar to the triangle textures on the MX Master mouse.

My first issue was that the program was operating slower and slower. I could tell my custom pattern was too heavy. But I got everything made and in place, and the program was workable.

Then it began to freeze and lockup completely when I tried to delete the edges that I didn't need. The same 3 pieces would not allow deletion without crashing. So I worked em in.

Now my form wont appear in the model (Its greyed out in the navigation menu but I have it set to visible), and I cannot even use replace face if I wanted. This is the main issue i need help with. Additionally, I cannot zoom past a certain level without the program freezing and getting caught loading for 10+ minutes. I also had some overlapping pieces that I managed to delete, but then I draw in new pieces and the program hangs until I shut it down upon creasing the newly created pieces.

Either way, what gives? And how can I lighten the program up so that this stuff will work properly? What was fun at first has turned into a teasing headache. dang you inventor.

Thanks,

Nick

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Xun.Zhang
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Nick,