Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extrude not working as it should

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Al.Thomas
3559 Views, 5 Replies

Extrude not working as it should

Hello, 

I am new to Inventor and I'm trying to learn the basics from Youtube. I've been using AutoCAD 3D for a while, but it didn't cover my needs, so I decided to abandon it. While I was watching some tutorials, I came accross this Tutorial, but I couldn't extrude the object properly (or at least the same way the tutor did in the video) on 8.22. It seems like something is not working the same way on my program (Inventor Pro 2017), because whenever I try to extrude the 2D Sketch, It extrudes the whole sketch instead of the outer part of it. Can someone explain me what is the difference/what am I doing incorrectly? I know my question is not that specific, but I can't find better words to describe it. Also, it would be great if you could point me to some decent tutorials.

Thanks for your time,

Thomas

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
admaiora
in reply to: Al.Thomas

Hi Alex,

try to Project Geometry (in the sketch enviroment) clicking the inner geometry limit.

Admaiora
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

Message 3 of 6
Mark.Lancaster

@Al.Thomas

Not saying you can't use the Shell function but I assume the shell was used to create the ID of the vertical cylindrical extrusion, is that correct?   My advice would be to use simply modeling functions over more involved functions like shell.   However I didn't watch the video if they used they used it too..  But there maybe a reason.  Smiley Wink