Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Down reving RFA files Created in Inventor 16

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
223 Views, 5 Replies

Down reving RFA files Created in Inventor 16

Hello,

I am very new to the cad word and what I am trying to do is quit a bit above my current knowledge base so please be patient.

I have an engineer that is trying to model a mechanical chill water room for me in Revit 15. His problem is that he can't draw things to my specs, i.e. long radius butt weld fitting and more. I am running inventor 16 and can model what I need, and send him RFA files but he is saying that it is not compatible with Revit 15. There are a couple of pieces of geometry that seem to not be compatible with Revit, like hole patterns and champers but I don't think this is causing the problem. Is this a problem that can be gotten around or am I out of luck.  I have never even seen Revit in person and know even less about it than inventor.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mcgyvr
in reply to: Anonymous

I think you will need to export to DWG or IFC... 

Many CAD programs are not backwards compatible..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: mcgyvr

I thank you for the reply. It seems that the Revit user will just have to figure it out on his own. I am almost certain that there is a way to draw or down load these files in Revit, but was hopping to save some time.

Thank you
Message 4 of 6
DarrenP

the revit user will need to be on at least revit 2016 for the rfa format to work

have you tried using the adsk format?

DarrenP