Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Content Center Update/Migration Question

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
jacobhTE66Z
1058 Views, 8 Replies

Content Center Update/Migration Question

Hi All,

Question about migrating content center between releases.

Scenario: I recently/unintentionally upgrade my vault basic server to 2024. As such I'm trying to make some edits to some of the content center parts and having issues from 2023.

Question: If I use the library update tool to update my custom content center to 2024, will it disable it for the 2023 inventor users?

I'm pretty new to the this facet of inventor/vault, so any advice would be appreciated!

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
jaimin.ja.3
in reply to: jacobhTE66Z

When you upgrade your Vault Basic Server to a newer release, the Content Center libraries will also be upgraded to the new release. This means that you may need to update your custom Content Center parts to ensure compatibility with the new release.

Using the library update tool to update your custom Content Center to 2024 should not disable it for 2023 Inventor users. However, it is important to note that once the library is updated to a new release, it may not be backward compatible with previous releases of Inventor.

In general, it is recommended that you maintain compatibility with the oldest version of Inventor that you need to support. So, if you have users who are still using 2023, you may want to consider keeping a separate copy of the custom Content Center libraries for that release.

Also, before updating your Content Center libraries, it is important to make sure you have a backup of the current libraries, so you can easily revert back to the previous version if needed.

Message 3 of 9
jacobhTE66Z

Ah, good to know. Thank you.