Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allowing modification to component to update to assembly and mirrored assemblies

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
949 Views, 5 Replies

Allowing modification to component to update to assembly and mirrored assemblies

I'm new to using Inventor at the moment, and I'm trying to do the following:

• Make individual components (two beams, webs, etc.)
  • Make an assembly of those components (which makes a support for a vessel)
  • Then use the assembly in another assembly file, to have a set of four supports in such a way that the rear will be a reflected copy of the front support, and both will then be reflected to make a rectangle.

I'm having an issue where if I modify a component it will update the assembly of the single support, and the assembly of the set, but the modification does not carry through any reflected components. How can I make the change apply throughout my project?

Also, how can I set components to be parallel and translate one component from the other?

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mcgyvr
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm new to using Inventor at the moment, and I'm trying to do the following:

• Make individual components (two beams, webs, etc.)
  • Make an assembly of those components (which makes a support for a vessel).
  • Then use the assembly in another assembly file, to have a set of four supports in such a way that the rear will be a reflected copy of the front support, and both will then be reflected to make a rectangle.

I'm having an issue where if I modify a component it will update the assembly of the single support, and the assembly of the set, but the modification does not carry through any reflected components. How can I make the change apply throughout my project?