Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ESC to stop current calcualtion

ESC to stop current calcualtion

certain tasks and designs can freeze up Fusion as a user you do not know if it locked-up or will be responsive minutes later.

as a designer I rather instead of waiting and hoping want to press ESC and stop the current calcualtion.

48 Comments

I run into this sooooo often [hard freeze and beach ball then force quit after ~5-10 minutes of hoping it might work itself out].

IMG_0758.png

Whatever is going on, it'd be great to have an «escape» button that would 

(a) halt the current operation and return the application and design to a usable state

(b) capture the current state and report back to Autodesk so they can fix it

(c) prevent near-migrane level headaches from sheer frustration of users

Tags (3)
mknickles
Enthusiast

I was attempting to review some steps in my timeline and accidentally clicked the PLAY button.  Now I can't halt the process without "FORCE QUIT" on the entire app.  Shouldn't there be a PAUSE or STOP button?  Painful UX to have to sit and wait several minutes for it to finish. 

Tags (3)
schneik-adsk
Community Manager
Status changed to: 実装予定

This is on our roadmap. It is going to take a little while to get right. I expect this to come sometime in the first half of 2015.

roberto
Enthusiast

Sometime you will do an operation, pushing a cut too far or something else, where you get the wait cursor and you *know* it will just take a long time before it will just return with a failed attempt. And the whole UI will just freeze during this period.

It should be possible to abort any such processing immediately by pressing ESC key.
A dialog could show up, asking Abort - Yes / No, to make sure one did press ESC on purpose.