Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Project with just 29 bodies using 7000+MB of memory & freezing

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
samathon
845 Views, 15 Replies

Project with just 29 bodies using 7000+MB of memory & freezing

Hello, I'm having an issue where my project is using up a ton of memory and becoming unresponsive. From the moment I open the project (before performing any operations) it uses 7GB or more of RAM. Doing a task such as modify > split body sometimes works just fine, and sometimes makes the whole program unresponsive, taking 5 minutes or more to complete. Even toggling a body's visibility or saving the project can make it freeze up for long periods.

I'm still pretty new to Fusion 360, and most of what I know about it was learned by playing around with the tools using trial and error, so I'm wondering if something about the way I use the program is incorrect and creates problems like this. The project only has 29 bodies in it, which doesn't feel like enough to cause this kind of performance issue, but the project history is very long and complicated; I'm wondering if that has something to do with it?

My computer is using an 8th generation Intel i7, a 1080ti GPU, and 8GB memory.

Here is a link to the project, if that helps:

https://a360.co/2zNQTOF
I'm not sure how to actually get the project file itself to share.

Labels (3)
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
TrippyLighting
in reply to: samathon

I had to stop Fusion 360 after about 5 minutes with all fans of my MacBook Pro running at full RPM.

Can you show screenshots of the fully expanded browser and those bodies?

EESignature

Message 3 of 16
samathon
in reply to: TrippyLighting

I'm sorry to hear that; thank you for trying to open it!