Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there an easy way to make this OBJ have smooth surfaces?

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
Anonymous
17726 Views, 14 Replies

Is there an easy way to make this OBJ have smooth surfaces?

I am pretty new to F360, and even newer to mesh objects.  So please, bear with me.

I have an OBJ I have imported.  Here, the example I am using is simply a 5 sided box, representing a fabric like material glued or sewn together on the edges.  The project is attached here, and so is the original OBJ.

I want to be able to convert the faces into bodies so I can apply a fabric appearance.  I have gone through a bunch of tutorials and posts here, and I also installed Meshmixer, which I haven't figured out yet.  No matter what I do, the triangles remain and I can't apply appearance.  I also tried patching it, but patch won't even recognize the edges when I go to patch.  Then, if I share the link, the shared version looks even worse than the flat shaded as opposed to the smooth shaded version in F360.  Here is the link.  

https://a360.co/2CEHFTR

I really need to be able to import these OBJ files and make them look like fabric.  Is there a simple way to achieve this?  I truly appreciate any help anyone can offer.  I am running F360 on Mac 10.12.  Thank you.

The forum won't allow me to upload the OBJ file, I've uploaded it here.  http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=69433356251775717017

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
norbertut
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi, to convert a Mesh to a body, you need to first disable "Capture Design History". You can do this if you select the top element of the object tree (filename component) and then right click. There's an option "do not capture Design History".