Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cylinder creation using construction line as axis

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
wadeJ4J2S
1042 Views, 7 Replies

cylinder creation using construction line as axis

I'm a noob at this, but I did search for the answer...

I am trying to create a static model of a tripod with tapered cylindrical legs.  I started by creating a tetrahedron of construction lines, thinking that I would create cylinders on the 3 non-base edges, but cannot figure out how to either a) create the cylinder using a construction line as its axis, or b) create a cylinder and then reorient it to the tetrahedron edge.

Any help would be much appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
g-andresen
in reply to: wadeJ4J2S

Hi,

please share the file and show a picture of such an object

günther

Message 3 of 8
HughesTooling

The primitives in Fusion do not work well and should be avoided in a parametric design. You are better off creating a component with a sketch and revolve then position the component on the tripod with a joint.

The leg component should look something like this. see attached file. You can then create a pattern for the other legs.

HughesTooling_0-1632411074767.png

Mark Hughes
Owner, Hughes Tooling
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 4 of 8
jeff_strater

when you say "construction line" are  you talking about a Construction Axis (AKA "Work Axis"):

Screen Shot 2021-09-23 at 8.30.55 AM.png

or a sketch construction line:

Screen Shot 2021-09-23 at 8.31.56 AM.png

Jeff Strater
Engineering Director
Message 5 of 8
HughesTooling