Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

collision/crash, random extra toolpath startpoint.

0 REPLIES 0
Message 1 of 1
Loek_vanbruggen
133 Views, 0 Replies

collision/crash, random extra toolpath startpoint.

Hi guys,

I have been using Fusion for a couple of months now to generate toolpaths for our pocket NC v2-50chk.

in the past we have had a lot of success running g code from fusion, 

yesterday I was machining a part and the toolpaths started at weird positions, not the entry position visible in the fusion simulator, this almost resulted in a crash, and we pushed on. later in the machining another toolpath started in a weird(seemingly random) spot and caused a collision with the tool and stock (luckily only a broken tool). 

We started to investigate,

we started generating toolpaths and running them in the Pentamachine simulator (link below)this simulator shows exactly what the machine will do with the provided g code. 
We found that every toolpath we generate doesn't begin at the start location that Fusion shows us. this is the case if you post a single toolpath and also if you post more toolpaths at once(in that case each toolpath starts at a weird spot). 

normally when the machine starts a new toolpath it moves to xyz 0 and goes to the toolpath start position and starts machining. In Figure 1(pdf) I shoed this move in the penta sim

now the machine goes from its xyz 0 to a kind of extra start point (seemingly random position most times next to the stock bottom or lower, and other times right above the stock), and from there it slowly moves to the standpoint the fusion simulator shows me. this weird position is not shown in fusion, only in the Penta simulator.