Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will Fusion produce g code that I can use on my bobscnc e3 setup?

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
16252 Views, 9 Replies

Will Fusion produce g code that I can use on my bobscnc e3 setup?

I'm brand new to CNC woodworking and I'm looking for a tool to design and create my G code. Right  now I'm using Windows Paint, saving as a bmp, and opening the bmp in F-Engrave...

I'm primarily looking to design small signs, plaques, trinkets etc...  nothing too exciting right now.

Someone told me to look into Fusion 360. It looks very full featured. But I have a dumb question... I'm using bobscnc router setup and F-Engrave to generate g code. Then I use GRBL firmware on the Arduino Uno to do the cutting. It's all 2D. Will Fusion 360 produce g code that I can use on my setup? What does it export? Thank you in advance for helping this newbie...

Tags (1)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Matthew-R
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous Thanks for your questions!  It looks like you're pretty new to the forum so thanks for making your first post.

Fusion 360 will post G-Code for your controller that can read .GBRL code.  After programming your part, there's a menu that allows the user to export G-Code for a wide variety of different types of machines and controllers.  We maintain an ever expanding searchable library of post processors.     

Here's a screenshot of the dialog that you'll see when posting your code.  You'll select the GBRL post and then the code will be created for your controller.

posting-code.png

GBRL.png

Also, here's a very helpful link to some Fusion 360 CAM learning material that should really help get you on your way:

Learning-Concepts-Fusion 360 CAM