Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thread Milling Rapid Collision with stock error

23 REPLIES 23
SOLVED
Message 1 of 24
winteragera
1255 Views, 23 Replies

Thread Milling Rapid Collision with stock error

Hi all, before I continue, I just want to say I am very new to CNC and Fusion360 CAM

My goal is to make a "water distribution plate" that accepts G1/4 BSP threading with M4 screws holding two-piece of cast acrylic sheet together.

I am trying to thread mill some M4 screw holes into 12.7mm cast acrylic sheet. However, I'm running into one major problem at the moment. When I try to simulate the threading process, I keep getting these red bads and it indicates "Rapid collision with stock" 

Some of the things I've tried:

-Checking my tool size is correct

-Setting the top height to "Stock top: 0mm" in the height tab

-Making sure the design hole depth is NOT longer than flute length of the thread mill cutter

winteragera_0-1585676279476.pngwinteragera_1-1585676543577.png

winteragera_4-1585676982817.png

I am using a thread mill cutter from Datron and they haven't provided me the tool measurement so I gave it a shot myself. Please check if anything is wrong.

winteragera_2-1585676620689.pngwinteragera_3-1585676658605.png

23 REPLIES 23
Message 2 of 24
seth.madore
in reply to: winteragera

At this point in time, selecting a single operation and Simulating it will not give you the result of everything that theoretically should have occurred before. To avoid getting false alarms, simulate everything you got

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 24
Anonymous
in reply to: seth.madore

Something to check would be your lead in (lead out) values on your linking page.