Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible Tool Offset Issue

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
derinveron
337 Views, 3 Replies

Possible Tool Offset Issue

Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to CNCing and very new to Fusion360. I along with a couple of other studiomates that are learning F360 are running into problems with the Z axis either dropping or being too high. What's happening is we touch off on the XYZ manually, start the file, and wait for it to either be too high or too low. Setting the XYZ a second time fixes the issue and LinuxCNC is able to start the file with the correct coordinates. But we of course want to find the problem so we don't have to reset the XYZ multiple times. 

Someone suggested to me that this could be a Tool Offset problem within the Fusion tool settings, so I went into the Post Processing tabs of the tools that I was using for my project and I set the offsets to 0. This didn't change or fix the problem, a bit of mine still plunged way further down into my wood than I set it up to. Could it be anything else? I've attached said file here. Thank you!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
daniel_lyall
in reply to: derinveron

Nothing sticks out as wrong in the model are you setting the Z-axis work zero to the same places as it is in cam?

Now don't plunge into anything unless you are using a center cutting cutter and if it is wood there is a chance of setting it on fire any cutter you use.