Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MACH3 G-code - Bad Character and K word problems

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
ANDERSONRODANDCHOPPER
5859 Views, 11 Replies

MACH3 G-code - Bad Character and K word problems

Hello,

I am new to CNC and have been sketching in fusion 360 for a few months now.  I have recently decided to try posting some g-code and making chips on my mill.   I am running MACH3 and really do not know much about anything.... so I do apologize in advance for my vocabulary regarding this topic....  I have self taught myself with the help of you tube and some interweb forums and am slowing gaining speed when I have the time.  

Currently I have been able to post my code and load into Mach3 with no problem but  it quickly errors.  It states "bad character"  So I did some reading and figured out That I need to delete all of the : at the beginning of any line.   Next it decided it did not like the "K word".  So I have to manually go through the entire 2000 lines of code and delete any K's that I see.    Then, I get all of that done, and it says "Bad Character on line#  G18 .  I cannot seem to get past this one and believe I'm going to need some help.  From what I have read, G17 G18 and G19 are XY and YZ planes and that Mach3 doesn't like G18 for some reason???? 

So what I really need to know is how do I get Fusion to post a good G code for me that I don't have to edit the : K and G18. I do not know enough about CNC controllers and g-code etc to work around it and I'm basically crippled.   I am very happy with Fusion and look forward to any advice anyone may have.   Thank you for your time.  

Josh

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12