Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convex Instead of Concave Radius Generated

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
tspinetti
515 Views, 7 Replies

Convex Instead of Concave Radius Generated

I'm relatively new to Fusion 360 but up until now I've been able to work through my issues by reading through the forums for info and systematically making changes to either my model or CAM, and sometimes both.  This one has me stumped.  I'm at a loss as to why a convex radius tool path is generated instead of a concave radius tool path.  Look at Setup 3 - Contour 5 in my f3d file attached.  I've gone through just about every CAM setting one by one and it doesn't change.  Thinking it might be my model I deleted the .015" corner radius' but that had no effect.  I'm sure it's me and not Fusion because Contour 4 works as intended.  I've got over a hundred of these to make and I'd like to get going.

For info I'm using the Mach3 post processor.

Thanks    

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
LibertyMachine
in reply to: tspinetti

What you are seeing as a "Convex" toolpath is the centerline of the tool itself. In the simulation, you can run it through and see:

2018-11-06_15h16_00.png

Although, to be sure, there IS material being left on the part, but that mostly goes away when you enable "Machine Shallow Areas" on the Passes tab.

Am I not seeing what you are referring to?

Seth Madore
Owner, Liberty Machine, Inc.
Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two.
Message 3 of 8
tspinetti
in reply to: LibertyMachine