Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cant work out how to import a vice. Hows that?

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
boyd.sofield
347 Views, 8 Replies

Cant work out how to import a vice. Hows that?

Ive been using Fusion for about 5 years. I hardly ever use the data menu on the LH side. Have not needed too. I did learn on the very early days how to add a body for stock, and using the joints commands, import a vice from the CAM samples and joint the stock, component and vice together.  

Now, if I open that same folder with a 5 axis vice I am unable to import it at all. I can open it into its own page.

If I right click on a vice I get no menu options such as "import" its just dead. Is there a new or different way to import a CAM sample vice into a current design? Its such a basic thing to not work, I restarted Fusion but yep, nada.

What am I doing wrong please?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

I have no right click for any of the "CAM Samples" files. You probably just have to save a copy under your own folder. 

Please click "Accept Solution" if what I wrote solved your issue!
Message 3 of 9
seth.madore
in reply to: boyd.sofield

Anything from the CAMSamples folder is "Read Only". What you need to do is open it up and perform a "Save As" and save it to a new folder in your Team hub. From there, you should then be able to import the vice into your file.

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 4 of 9
boyd.sofield

Thats it. A dead mouse click is like finding the lawn mower with no petrol.... Thanks.