Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAM help with model

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Pshupe
507 Views, 8 Replies

CAM help with model

Hello, I am very new to Fusion 360.  I'm starting to get some experience with the modeling side of things but haven't even looked at the CAM side.  I have a small CNC machine and a friend wants me to cut a guitar neck for him.  He's got a pretty decent model done an I have it imported into Fusion but don't really know where to begin.  Can someone suggest the best reference material for me to learn the CAM side.  I'm thinking I won't be up to speed fast enough for this project, so I would like to get some advice about someone to hire to help me.  I would imagine soliciting is not allow on here but maybe someone could point me in the direction of someone to help me out? OR possibly mentor me while expediting this particular project.  Thanks for any advice.

Cheers Peter.

Here is a snap shot of the model -

Capture.JPG

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
LibertyMachine
in reply to: Pshupe

How "small" is your CNC machine, is it large enough to handle the length of a guitar neck in one shot?

What is your comfort level with your machine? Is your only major impediment the software, or are there going to be significant learning curves tied to the machine side of things?

What is your CNC or manufacturing knowledge, apart from your machine? Is this something you do daily, or are you completely green?

None of these questions are meant to challenge or discourage. They are simply asked to establish a baseline of sorts. We are all at different stages of our CAD/CAM/CNC journey, and one never knows where the other is without asking.

Learning: