Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tutorials for Dimensions and Tools

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
848 Views, 8 Replies

Tutorials for Dimensions and Tools

I have watched a number of tutorials and can never seem to get the same behaviour in F360! I'm new to CAD in general but the following seem to elude me and I would have thought simple functions:

1. I can add dimensions in a sketch but once extruded I seem unable to change them again (for example I want to make the hole in the middle of this sketch smaller by 0.5mm all round (http://a360.co/2CrCAfM)
  2. Ultimately I want to design a new dashboard facia for my car and I want to make a tool?! for the switch holes so I can use it multiple times/tweak if incorrect. Which tutorials should I be watching to learn how to do this please?
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
daniel_lyall
in reply to: Anonymous

It's the way you did it that's making it not work like you wont it to.

A simple object like what you are making only needs a couple of sketches.

If you do the first sketch like the attached pick it makes it a lot easier to control the size of the object.

What is sketch the outside to the size you think you wont then do a offset sketch for the rectangle to the size you think you wont. If the inside sketch is to be an offset sketch from one side you just sketch a rectangle and diamention it in so it is where you think you wont it to be.

first.png  

Dimensioned inside rectangle.

secondd.png

Then you just extrude it up to the height you think you wont.

333333.png

Then for the sketch for the side hole do it on the inside face.

4444444444444.png