Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need a way to change the configuration of a design in a derived design.

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Julie_7
237 Views, 4 Replies

I need a way to change the configuration of a design in a derived design.

I am still learning how to make better use of configurations, so I may have missed something.

Here is a simple example of what I would like to be able to do.

1. I have a design for a logo.

a. I expect to use the log in many other designs.

a. The design is configured with 3 selectable sizes.

2. I have a design for a box and I want to be able to apply the logo to the lid.

a. I derive the box from the logo so that I can use it

a. The box is also configurable with 10 different sizes

3. I want to be able to choose the correct logo size for each box configuration.

It is my understanding that I can only derive from a configured design by selecting a single configuration.

Am I missing something?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
karina.harper
in reply to: Julie_7

Hi @Julie_7 ,

We currently support switching configurations with Insert but not Derive. If you use insert instead of Derive, you can switch configurations or Configure the inserted configuration (adds a column to the table that lets you choose which config is active). 

Derive has some complexity that makes it a bit more difficult to implement (you can derive just a sketch for example) but it is on our roadmap to allow switching Derived Configurations.

Cheers,

Karina

Karina Harper

Software QA Engineer, Fusion 360

Fusion 360 Webinars | Contact Support | EDU Support | Support Board Best Practices

Message 3 of 5
Julie_7
in reply to: karina.harper

Thank you so much!