Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help making this in Fusion

25 REPLIES 25
Message 1 of 26
Anonymous
31414 Views, 25 Replies

Help making this in Fusion

Over on the ArtCAM board we are being moved over to using Fusion to create are work as apparently it is a good alternative. Unfortunately we have just found out Autodesk can turn off subscription anytime they like and leave you without the ability to model things.

I have very little experience with Fusion, but in ArtCAM I do lots of different jobs for customers, from Jewellery, Sign making , Furniture work and anything else that lands on my plate.

So a question for anyone on the Fusion board how would I make these sort of models? This is quite normal for ArtCAM customers to do this sort of modelling.

25 REPLIES 25
Message 2 of 26
laughingcreek
in reply to: Anonymous

I hadn't heard of artcam, so I just took a look.   It looks like a pretty nice piece of software.  The bad news is most of the cool stuff you can do in artcam isn't possible in fusion.  Maybe some others will chime in with alternative workflows.  I suspect Autodesk bought the software for some of it's underlying capabilities, so they could integrate into their own software (such as fusion), but who knows when or if that will happen.

Message 3 of 26
PhilProcarioJr

@Anonymous

Although this stuff is possible in Fusion it is very complicated and hard to do. There is a script to turn an image into a model that can be used for cam but I have rarely gotten good results from it.

It can be found here:

https://github.com/hanskellner/Fusion360Image2Surface

Phil Procario Jr.
Owner, Laser & CNC Creations

Message 4 of 26
jodom4