Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot seem to figure out why I cant turn this 3d sketch into a Solid model.

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
david_william1
906 Views, 15 Replies

Cannot seem to figure out why I cant turn this 3d sketch into a Solid model.

This is a box that I am working on that will house an accessory switch to fit in a glove box.  I am pretty new to fusion and really new to doing sketches.  Normally I start with a 3d object and mod it to fit my needs.  This one has a taper and radius to it so I decided to 3d sketch it first and now I am trying to get it turned into a solid model so I can test print it to see if the dimensions are going to work.  Do yall have any suggestions.  I have tried both extrude and loft and neither are doing the trick.  Loft gives an error and extruding wont follow the radius or contour.  Im sure it just me but can yall please help?

Thanks

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16

A 3D sketch does not reside on the same sketch plane so it you cannot use Solid Modeling commands such as Extrude, Revolve, etc. on it.  One way of developing it into a solid body is through the use of surfaces.  Add surfaces to all faces and then if they all joint together, depends on your sketching ability, then you can them Stitch them together into a Solid.  Yours works fine and your solid model is attached.

Edit: If you cannot figure out what I did using the timeline, let me know.

Solid.jpg

John Hackney, Retired
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 16