Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding gear teeth to arc spiral gear

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
1088 Views, 11 Replies

Adding gear teeth to arc spiral gear

Hi,

I am trying to add teeth to a spiral shape to 3d print a spiral gear. I have tried to make my sketch coincide with the arc of the spiral, but it never seems to do it how I would like. I have the correct tooth profile sketched and just want to position it so that the tooth sits flush on the surface of the spiral. Every time I try to coincide the endpoints to the spiral, it only changes the radius size instead of moving/rotating the whole sketched profile.

If I enclose the shape it gives me an error.

I am a student and none of my professors have been able to assist me with this, so any help would be great. I have attached my file with the shape and profile so you may see what I am trying to do. There are also screenshots if you wish not to open the Fusion file.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
etfrench
in reply to: Anonymous

Usually, Pattern on Path would be used for something like this.  However, it doesn't keep the teeth aligned to the path properly.

Component3 in the attached file is a lograrithmic gear created in Gearotic.  Perhaps it can help show how the teeth must be spaced.

Notes:  Try working in Timeline mode instead of Direct Modeling.  See @TrippyLighting's Rule #1.

ETFrench

EESignature

Message 3 of 12
davebYYPCU

Blue sketch lines should keep you awake at night. more constraints and dimensions

Your sketch distorts because it is not fully constrained, measure the angle between the two face lines,

highlight the parts to move, select move tool, 

rttsktch.PNG