Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welded Frames (Weldments) similar to Solidworks

Welded Frames (Weldments) similar to Solidworks

In Solidworks, a 2D or 3D sketch is created.  You then choose your frame material from a list of common profiles (such as 1" X 1" X .125 angle iron or 2" X 0.625 wall tube).  The profile then gets extruded along the lines of your original sketch.  There are simple options for adjusting how the orientation of the profile and for controlling what happens at the corners.  Cut lists are automatically generated from the model.

This is a fantastic tool for welded frames, but I have also modified it for use with construction projects and dimensional lumber.

I am sure there is similar functionality in Inventor, but I have no experience with it.

13 Comments
TrippyLighting
Consultant

Yes, that is another one of the many machine building prodictivity features in SW. Works also perfectly well for extruded aluminum profile frames.

Anonymous
Not applicable

This would be really great when they make some improvements to 3D sketchesSmiley Wink

OahuPilot
Participant

Frame generator from Inventor is really missing from fusion 360 

promm
Alumni
Status changed to: RUG-jp審査通過

@nowak_nick,

Thank you for your idea.  Although it is a great idea, the amount of time it will be before we get to it is the reason why the idea is being changed to Archived.  Weldments is a very large project for the team and with our current roadmap it will be years before we explore our options.  At this time, we will revisit your idea.

Thank you,

Mike Prom

Anonymous
Not applicable

Years? Really? I've already spent years learning your software, waiting for such a feature, assured that Inventor can do everything Solidworks can do and visa versa.