Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Customizable Keyboard Shortcuts + tool search

Customizable Keyboard Shortcuts + tool search

Hello,

I am new to Fusion, but I just wanted to add to what the community is asking for. Maybe it'll get more attention and be added quickly.

I come from working in Cinema 4D and 3D Coat and those two softwares are very customizable. From the workspace layouts, to custom menus and keyboard shortcuts of course, here's what i suggest that i think can really speed up workflow.

1.- If I hit Shift+C on my keyboard while working on Cinema 4D, a window pop up will ask me to type in and it'll search for tools that I type in. This really speeds up things since I can just start to type in what I want to do and I get suggestions based on the letter combinations.

2017-07-26 18_58_30-CINEMA 4D R17.016 Studio (R17) - [Untitled 1] - Main.png

2.- Ability to add keyboard shortcuts on the fly. In 3D coat, you can hover your mouse over pretty much anything and assign a keyboard shortcut without having to go to preferences and menus. Just hover, hit the END key and assign the shortcut. Pretty handy.

2017-07-26 19_09_48-Photos.png

3.- Options for navigation in the scene (pan, zoom, orbit). coming from other software I honestly hate having to middle mouse click to move around. Personally I prefer a keyboard+mouse combination. Here's an example of navigation in C4D:

• Press and hold 1 key + left click = Pan 
  • Press and hold 2 key + Left click = Zoom
  • Press and hold 3 key + Left click = Orbit
  • Press and hold 3 key + right click = Roll

I think this is an easier way to navigate the scene, but overall just having the ability to set custom shortcuts would do.

Thanks!

9 Comments
Anonymous
Not applicable