Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STL Exported Sideways?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
omatsei
7239 Views, 6 Replies

STL Exported Sideways?

I'm new to Fusion 360, so I apologize if this is a stupid question. I'm creating some basic 3D models, then exporting them to STL files for 3D printing. The problem is that when I export them, the models come out sideways, so I have to rotate them 90 degrees before printing. Is that expected behavior? Am I doing something wrong?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
PhilProcarioJr
in reply to: omatsei

@omatsei

Your building them in the wrong orientation and that's why you have to rotate them.

Could be which axis you have set to up. By default Fusion sets the Y axis as up, now depending on what software you export the .stl to this could be wrong.

I always set Z-up because all my printing and mill work requires this. Try setting your default orientation to Z up and see if that helps.

I might also add that changing your default orientation to Z up will not change it in files already created. You will have to create a new model after the change to test it.

Untitled.png

Phil Procario Jr.
Owner, Laser & CNC Creations

Message 3 of 7
omatsei
in reply to: PhilProcarioJr

That makes a lot of sense, actually. I was having trouble figuring out why my axes were a little off from what I expected. Thank you!

Message 4 of 7
omatsei

How do I orient an existing design to the new axis, so when I export it, it comes out correctly?

Message 5 of 7
PhilProcarioJr

@omatsei

You have to rotate it with the move command. Select the component and hit the M key, rotate it and save the file.

There is no way as far as I know to change the orientation of files already created.