Community
EAGLE Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s EAGLE Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular EAGLE topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's wrong with Eagle???

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1563 Views, 6 Replies

What's wrong with Eagle???

Hi!
My name is Chris and I'm thinking about to buy a license for the Eagel software.

I'm a hobbyist and won't use it for huge production or even not in commercial meaning.

I'm using 20 years the product from NI company last several years in the past I use the Ultiboard app from NI and I'm very happy with it, but I feel a bit they didn't follow some new technology etc. and I wish to migrate to a new software for my purpose.

I downloaded the free version of Eagle from your site and started to learn it.

I can say, it is an interesting toy, but also a crap.

I can't imagine does your developers made simple tasks so complicated does it  has no sense anymore 

to thinking in a direction to pay for your software.

Here are some of you most nonsense thinks:
- the "select" tool.

If I select something on my board, some region with components on it, I can't see what region is selected.

- the option to move the selected components to some location.

What we have to do:
press and hold the CTRL on the keyboard, press and hold the right mouse button and then move the 

mouse to the desired location.

That's really a crazy stuff!
Should I maybe buy some foot pedals in the future to improve the functionality of the Eagle???

- measurement in Eagle is totally crap!
There is no ruler involved, even worse is the coordinating system usability to move the components to some 

specific position on the board.

- 3D representation of my pcb

That's also crap.

Why should I spend my time making 3D models of my used component package in my project, and messing around in the database to view my design in 3D?

I'm an electronic engineer and not a 3D modeler.