Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
EAGLE Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s EAGLE Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular EAGLE topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulation - is it ready for prime time?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
engineeringNCMXB
1874 Views, 11 Replies

Simulation - is it ready for prime time?

I slogged through the 83 minute webinar on simulation in Eagle. It seems like it can cover a lot of territory during the circuit design phase. At the moment, I am still using LTSpice to simulate relatively small sections of my designs. I am not an expert, but I know it well enough to get the answers I need fairly quickly. 

After trying Eagle ngspice simulation - I have been bombarded with errors and lack of any usable generic library to get a design started. 

eagle_addmodel_cpp-err_A.png

Trying to add-model to a battery symbol only gives me the option to pick from MOSFET models. 
The example models cover very little territory and do not seem to have any attributes associated so I am left to just pick from a cryptic list and wonder what the model is for. 

How do you best manage a spice library of typical parts? Is there a place to download a reasonable starter library for conceptual level designs? 

Full disclosure: I have only spent about 2 hours looking at the simulation so far, so my understanding is clearly very limited. With that in mind, what I have seen so far makes me want to run away as fast as I can. I do NOT want to spend a pile of time attempting to learn a system that I will ultimately deem worse than LTSpice (which is already a comically clunky piece of software - but FREE).