Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automate attributes using diesel and an external file

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
490 Views, 3 Replies

Automate attributes using diesel and an external file

Hello all seeing this partains to dynamic blocks i thought i'll give it a go. 

I’m looking for a way to automate some fields in Autocad for a titleblock,

I was thinking about finding an Autolisp program to do this, but recently I’ve found that you can also use diesel. However, I’m just a simple engineer. And I’m not sure if it’s even possible, what I want to do is the following:

Some fields in the title block can easily be automated since they are the same for every drawing, for instance projectnumber, projectname etc. What I thought would be a smart way is to have a *.txt file in the “root” folder of the drawings and just have some simple info in it

[projectnumber]
[projectname]
[Country]

And have a diesel expression pull the info from said file.

However I wouldn’t know where to start. I can modify an expression to fit my needs but starting one from scratch isn’t something that surpasses my knowledge

Anyone have something like this already done like this or similar to it

Folder structure is the same for every project

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
MMcCall402
in reply to: Anonymous

Have you considered using the sheet set manager for filling in your title block information?

I have title blocks inserted in my drawing template files as blocks with attributes that are pre-loaded with fields that refer to sheet set manager values. Filling in a title block is as simple as adding it to the current sheet set and its done.  If something needs to be changed later on you just need to change it in the sheet set manager and all the title blocks in the set update. The title block block is a dynamic block so it can be resized for sever different sheet sizes.