Community
Community Meet & Greet
Introduce yourself and meet the Autodesk Community. Network, create connections and build your reputation.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
259 Views, 3 Replies

Hello!

Greetings!

• I'm Maddie. I'm from Florida, but I'm moving to New Hampshire shortly. I'm a Mechanical Engineer looking to specialize in onboarding MEP firms to Revit, in the hopes of improving the working relationship between architect and engineer. The concept of unifying the workflow between disciplines to a single software is very promising.
  • I've been using Revit for a little over a year now at various firms, and I'd consider myself fairly proficient. I've also been getting Dynamo under my feet a bit lately. Still very much a newbie with AutoCAD, though!
  • I'm excited to see how Revit can be improved in the future - I get ideas every day from the engineers at my firm about how Revit can be made more accessible, more intuitive, and easier to learn. Mostly in the form of complaints, mind you, but it's better for problem-solving purposes to reinterpret that as a desire for improvement.

A more concrete example of something I'd like to work on in the coming years:

• Right now, the need for individual engineers to create Families from the ground up is very high. Most manufacturers do not provide high-quality or up-to-date BIM objects, especially not for smaller projects like residential design.
  • This places the burden on the engineer at the worst possible time, too; you need Families of your equipment to get started modelling at all, so you frustrate yourself making amateur errors in Family creation, and then have a shaky foundation for the rest of the project.
  • A good solution to this would be to find experienced Revit users who are also experienced engineers to make these Families in advance.