Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Offset normal to Surface

Offset normal to Surface

This had been discussed so long that the original post aren't even archived.

We need the ability to offset a surface. Landfill caps and certain types of excavation or fill need to be calculated this way. I WAS doing this in AutoCAD back in the 90's using a program called QuickSurf. Fifteen years ago I tried to write a lisp to do this using the NOR function in the Geometry Calculator. But, not being a programmer, I never finished it. So I believe this it doable but I don't know how much work it would take.

Allen

61 Comments
AllenJessup
Mentor
Karsten.Saenger
Autodesk Support

Hi Allen,

is this about "growing" a surface, like a blowing up a ballon versus just offset it in z-direction, which is alread possible?

Technically said offset each surface triangle in direction of the normal vector.

I have quite a view request for such a function.

Regards,
Karsten.

AllenJessup
Mentor

Yes. Growing a surface. No. It's not possible yet.

Allen

Karsten.Saenger
Autodesk Support

Thanks! What I meant what is possible is to raise/lower the surface, which is only along the z-direction.

Karsten.

AllenJessup
Mentor

To Change the Elevation of a Surface
http://help.autodesk.com/cloudhelp/2015/ENU/Civil3D-UserGuide/files/GUID-DF02E0B2-851C-4A24-A470-910...

This area isn't meant for support. If you have any more questioins about this. Please post to the Civil 3D forum.

BernhardBicking
Participant

Hello @Anonymous,

The Funktion to offset DGM in perpendicular (not z) direction would be very helpful. But this feature does not exist. 

I wait for this about 7 Years.

The programmers are probably not able to make something challenging.

Spoiler
Smiley Wink

I (and many others) waiting.

martin.folber
Advocate

Hi guys,

this is must have feature when we calculate earthworks. Similar to AutoCAD Command SURFOFFSET or PUSH in 3DS Max

Thanks