Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does C3D create non-destructive points?

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
srousey74V5X
2070 Views, 15 Replies

Why does C3D create non-destructive points?

It's my first time on here, so please excuse me if I don't do things correctly.

When I create surfaces, C3D adds it's own points in certain locations. These are crosses with squares around them. I have seen where they are referred to as "non-destructive points". I work for a survey company, and I ONLY want it to interpolate between the points that the crew shoots. Often times the elevation of these square points don't make sense in comparison to the rest of the points, and thus the surface is incorrect. I have seen where they get created along boundary lines. That certainly seems to be the case for me. In my current project I have moved these boundaries to the bottom of the list under "definition" in the surface, and the points still show. WHY does C3D create points on it's own and can I stop it from doing this? How do I remove them from current surface?

I'm using Windows 10 and Civil 3d 2015

Civil 3d 2023
Processor Intel i7-13700K Sixteen Core Enhanced Performance Processor
System Memory 32GB DDR5-4800 MHz (2 - 16GB DIMMS)
M.2 Storage 500GB SSD NVMe/PCIe 4.0 M.2 Drive Expansion Card Slot(s)
NVIDIA RTX A2000 12GB
Operating System Microsoft Windows 10 Professional Edition
System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
BrianHailey
in reply to: srousey74V5X

Hi and welcome to the forums!