Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transitioning from LDT 09 to the newest Civil 3D

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
JohnC_ISM
351 Views, 5 Replies

Transitioning from LDT 09 to the newest Civil 3D

so long story short my dad has used 09 cad land desktop for land surveying (2D) for just about the 10 years its been out. now we are contemplating the transition to the new civil 3d. 

as a student i have the luxury to test out the new program before we invest the money, but so far im having a really difficult time finding the menus, commands, and general everyday tasks on the newest version. in LDT09 the project, points, or label options are all right there in the ribbon tabs. ive googled stuff but seems like autocad has kind of pushed surveying into the corner and there not much information out there for the surveying aspect. 

so my first question is 1) is there a tutorial out there fellow surveyors on here have used to make that jump?

and 2) is there a way to export general work space layout to the new program?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
wfberry
in reply to: JohnC_ISM

I have always advocated  using the supplied Tutorials that come with the Civil 3D installation.  Normally at the top of your program right next the the question mark is a dropdown arrow.  In this dropdown there are Tutorials.  I highly recommend that you start with Lesson 1 and continue through these.  There is a big learning curve, some folks recommend that you forget all about using Land Development Desktop.  The trick here is to get enough information and questions, then get some face to face instruction.

Bill

Message 3 of 6
Joe-Bouza