Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Space delimited file (formatted text)

17 REPLIES 17
SOLVED
Message 1 of 18
Anonymous
5665 Views, 17 Replies

Space delimited file (formatted text)

Hello,

I am PhD student in Beijing, China. My major is about Biological Sciences.

I have the data in excel format, I want to convert it into formatted text(space delimited),  I tried in excel the save as option but it did not work.
As a matter of fact I know some text editors such as notepad++ and others, but then again notepad++ and other text editors did not convert properly. It gave very strange format. I confirmed it while opening txt file in excel converted by text editor. All my efforts went in vain. May be I am missing key point in conversion.
Could you  tell me other software or way to convert excel into formatted text (space delimited)?
Looking forward!!
Best Regards,
Abdul

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
Pointdump
in reply to: Anonymous

Abdul,

After saving the file as a CSV in Excel, pretty much any text editor has a "find and replace" function where you can replace the comma with a space:

Replace.png

Dave

Dave Stoll
Las Vegas, Nevada

EESignature

64GB DDR4 2400MHz ECC SoDIMM / 1TB SSD
NVIDIA Quadro P5000 16GB
Windows 10 Pro 64 / Civil 3D 2024
Message 3 of 18
Anonymous
in reply to: Pointdump

@Pointdump Thank You very much, but still there is problem.

If you do not mind, I can share my file with you.

since there are 102 plant species in upper title rows, but it yields 103.

Could you please address this issue?

Best Regards,

Abdul

Message 4 of 18
Pointdump

Abdul,

There are 103 Columns because 1 X A is necessarily blank; top row and left column are descriptive headers. If you need 102 columns X 61 rows you'll need to strip out that top row and left column.

1XA.png