Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smoothing added elevation points with kriging issue

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
michaelKYSFP
519 Views, 7 Replies

Smoothing added elevation points with kriging issue

Greetings,

I've been using the linear kriging for smoothing a large surface area (about 1000 acres) containing about 4000 elevation points. Recently, I added some more points (about 2000) to a new area (about 500 acres), which borders the above mentioned, and tried to smoothen it in the same way. This has distorted the first surface completely (see pic1 before and pic2 after). I also attach the xml file of the entire surface after the distortion. I would highly appreciate any advice on solving this issue. Besides, I'm a new Civil user and this is my first time here, so I hope I my message is clear enough.

Thanks

Labels (2)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
lim.wendy
in reply to: michaelKYSFP

Hi @michaelKYSFP,

Welcome and thank you for reaching out to the forum! 

• Do you have the xml before adding the new points? Please share them.
  • Provide us the new points which you added to the existing surface

Wendy Lim

Data Nerd | Community Advocate | AEC Industry

facebook twitter twitter blogs pm

Join the new online Rail Community

Customer Value Hub

Message 3 of 8
michaelKYSFP
in reply to: lim.wendy

Hi @lim.wendy ,

Thanks for the reply. I reattach the surface with the point files composing it. The modification date of these files is correlated with the surface creation and modifications. The last point file added is the one which created all the mess..

Message 4 of 8
Pointdump

Michael,
2 of your point files have a 0 elevation. Check for other outliers. That might fix things.
Also, try creating 3 separate surfaces and then pasting them together.
Dave

Dave Stoll