Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ploting to PDF - Line weight Issues

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
4716 Views, 8 Replies

Ploting to PDF - Line weight Issues

Hello,

I'm an architect who works in AutoCAD here in my office. I produce drawings for a 24X36 format, we print half size (11X17) to review internally. When I draft, I use our office standard layers, whose line weight is defined in our CTB file. Since I've worked here, our lineweights have always looked light. Keep in mind that Im ploting to PDF. We use bluebeam and Adobe here. Printing to both produces bad lineweights. My understanding was that it was the CTB file. However lately, I have been plotting directly to the printers from CAD. Completely different appearence. The line weights are bold. Hatches are reading more promenently. Why is this happening? Why arnt my exported pdfs printing as strongly.

Things to note:

• Half size sets to review (11x17) are printed on the same printer always. 
  • Full size sets come from our plotter, I am confident that they exhibt the same line weight, just twice the size of the 11X17
  • Plotting from CAD to both printers produces better lineweights. 
  • Viewing the PDF on my screen shows light line weights.
  • CTB is our standard. 

Thank you Kindly,

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
troma
in reply to: Anonymous

Have you tried digging into your pc3 file settings?
Is bluebeam a plot-to-pdf thing? Never heard of it.
If you're using that and Adobe, try something else just for fun. Try the DWG To PDF or download and test the free Cute PDF writer.

Mark Green

Working on Civil 3D in Canada

Message 3 of 9
troma

What version of CAD are you working in?

Mark Green

Working on Civil 3D in Canada

Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: troma

AutoCAD 2014

Message 5 of 9
Anonymous