Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

KML/KMZ to Google Earth

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
henrytaray30
575 Views, 9 Replies

KML/KMZ to Google Earth

Hello Guys!

I am currently a civil engineering intern and I am tasked to convert dwg files to kml for viewing in Google Earth Browser/Pro by using Civil 3D. I have set the GEOGRAPHICLOCATION with WORLD-MERCATOR (WGS84) GIS Coordinate System and set the drawing units to Meters before KML Export. However, when importing the KMZ/KML files to Google Earth, it shows the correct location (coordinates) but the objects, labels, and polygons do not reflect to the map. I tried changing the coordinate systems but it is still not working.

What should I do? I hope someone can help. Thank you!

Labels (2)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
Pointdump
in reply to: henrytaray30

Hi Rye,
"I have set the GEOGRAPHICLOCATION with WORLD-MERCATOR (WGS84) GIS Coordinate System..."
Don't use GEOGRAPHICLOCATION. That command is meant for vanilla autocad, and it has unpredictable results in Civil 3D. Use instead MAPCSASSIGN, MAPCSLIBRARY, or Drawing Settings.
Screen shots might shed some light on the problem.
Dave

Dave Stoll
Las Vegas, Nevada

EESignature

64GB DDR4 2400MHz ECC SoDIMM / 1TB SSD
NVIDIA Quadro P5000 16GB
Windows 10 Pro 64 / Civil 3D 2024
Message 3 of 10

@henrytaray30 

<<…it shows the correct location…..but the objects, labels, and polygons do not reflect to the map…>>

Hmmm, that’s confusing. If it shows the correct location why doesn’t it reflect the to the map? What does ‘reflect to the map’ mean? Would it be possible to re-describe your issue?

Can you also upload an image of the Google Earth that shows where your linework lands?

Your willingness to share will go a long way in diagnosing your problem. Congrats landing your internship!