Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodeskโ€™s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results forย 
Showย ย onlyย  | Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

How to import google earth to C3D 2016

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
kelvxd92
38043 Views, 16 Replies

How to import google earth to C3D 2016

Hello there, I'm new to C3D and currently following tutorials and books from 2011/2010 guidelines. However, i faced several problems as in importing the google earth to C3D 2016, as i couldnt see the this >>> ( surface>command>importGIS ) <<<<. Apart from that, i couldn't see any import from google earth in my file tab.  ๐Ÿ˜ž Is there any plugin need to be installed ? Does anyone have an idea how to do this ? Ur help is sooo much appreciated !! Cheeerss Smiley Happy

I have attached the image for your reference. ๐Ÿ˜„

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
rl_jackson
in reply to: kelvxd92

The feature (command) was removed in 2013 due to Google Earth copyright issues, just not sure how they own what is already freely available from USGS.

Try Google Earth Explorer, and you can download the DEM & Ortho or other available images from there based on your area of interest.

Rick Jackson
Survey CAD Technician VI

Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 17
kelvxd92
in reply to: rl_jackson

Which mean the version before 2013 was able to import google earth ? I have searched through all the previous version of civil 3d 2010/2011, but i found none of them exist. Do you have any other idea of getting it ? anyway, thanks for the reply and help tho. Cheers ! 

Message 4 of 17
Pointdump

K,

Have you tried Bing Live Maps (GeoLocation Tab)? Works very well with C3D 2016. If you really need Google Earth, use either the free version of Trimble Business Center or QGIS.

Dave