Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drawing and labelling magnetic north survey in Civil 3d...

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
jtakag
251 Views, 3 Replies

Drawing and labelling magnetic north survey in Civil 3d...

I'm new to Civil 3D and have an issue drawing lot lines from a survey with magnetic north bearings. I understand that Civil 3D north is NOT magnetic north and when I create lines by bearing they are off by the angle of magnetic declination from the date the survey was created (1985). What is the best practice for drawing lot lines from a survey with magnetic north bearings and have them positioned and labelled correctly?

Ive tried a few things, including drawing the lot lines and then rotating them by the magnetic declination, but when I create a parcel, the labels not suprisingly show the new rotated bearings.

I'm probably missing something very obvious. I would love to be able to create lines by bearing directly from the survey and have them overlay on the surface/map imagery while displaying labels that agree with the original survey bearings.

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
ToddRogers-WPM
in reply to: jtakag

Type in UNITS. At the bottom of the dialog box, click on Direction. There you can change the direction of 0. This may or may not help.

Todd Rogers
Message 3 of 4
jtakag
in reply to: ToddRogers-WPM