Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Surface and Existing Ground Profile Workflow?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Anonymous
984 Views, 2 Replies

Creating Surface and Existing Ground Profile Workflow?

Hi guys,

I'm new in C3D, and been figuring out all kinds of things on my own. My company havent done any C3D trainings for us.

I've figured out mostly how to do horizontal alignment, and other horizontal alignment work, and my supervisor gave me a new task of creating an existing ground profile as a basis for our vertical alignment designs.

However, I only have a few files that I've gathered from way back 2011 from the survey company who did the surveys and topos for the project.

I have generated a profile from a .tin file I found, but I have few more files that I dont know how to incorporate to the surface to give me an exact profile. 

My alignment runs over roads and some flat surfaces, but the .tin generated profile doesnt give me that surface. I have found a dwg file that includes points for the surface, but I dont know how to get all those points reflect on my profile. I went to the tutorial, and went on with it, but honesty, I dont know what kinds of files I have so Im not sure how to apply all the tutorial lessons I did.

Can you guys help me sort out what to do with these files I have? or do I need other files that I would need to give me an accurate profile required for my work?

File #1 :    A new alignment I did based on a new job order to re-design the old approved alignment

File #2 :    a dwg containing the points for the area of the project. (A sample area since the file is over 25mb)

File #3 :    A generated surface profile using a .tin file I found. On the profile I overlaid an old vertical alignment profile to see if it matches the areas