Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

correct methods & tips to work with architect drawings

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
arvind.sJRHGF
1764 Views, 12 Replies

correct methods & tips to work with architect drawings

Hi all,

I am a newbie at working with architect and external drawings in civil3D.

i would like to know the proper way to improt and position the architect drawings into civil 3D.

Currently, the architect drawings we get usually are like this:

1.  Drawn in different units

2. No coordinate system

3. Rotated sometimes (not aligned with north.)

4. Scale differences

5. Incorrect boudnaries touse with survey data.

Could the Civil 3D experts here please help me develop a methodology to fix these issues.

I'm a civil engineer and use architect drawings to do the site design, pipe networks, corridors for roads etc.

Best way for me to avoid costly errors would be to learn from this community and get to know good practices and step by step instructions.

Thank you in advance.

Regards

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
rl_jackson
in reply to: arvind.sJRHGF

I get cad data from architects all the time, sometimes this data, might be a boundary that we didn't do. So first thing I do is follow there intended distance from the property line (there's no setbacks per-say here) I'm working with commercial/hi-rise, everything is council meetings for approvals.