Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add Elevation data to a drawing

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
1135 Views, 9 Replies

Add Elevation data to a drawing

Hi, I wish to be able to show Elevation data on a drawing. I can import a SHP file which shows Elevation data when right clicking on a line and viewing Properties but how can i show this inormation on the drawing? 

I am new to CIvil 3d so apologies if this is a basic question. Many thanks in advance. Andrew

Labels (1)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
AllenJessup
in reply to: Anonymous

First you want to Create a Surface From GIS Data. Then you need to create a Surface Spot Elevation Label Style

AllenJessup_0-1628011733729.png

Then you can label elevations on the Surface.

Allen Jessup
CAD Manager - Designer
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 10
ChicagoLooper

@Anonymous wrote:

<<Hi, I wish to be able to show Elevation data on a drawing. I can import a SHP file which shows Elevation data when right clicking on a line and viewing Properties....>>

What command are you using to import the shapefile? Can you upload a screenshot that shows a line and the line's elevation in the Properties Palette?

Chicagolooper

EESignature

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous

You can also show contour data. On the annotation tab far left click Add labels and you'll see the different kinds of features you can label. That's where you find the spot el labels and contour labels - under Surface. If you don't like the text style, the height, the label precision, the layer, you Edit the label. Become very familiar with the label style composer, you'll use it a lot until you get things right.

Message 5 of 10